Your rights

The Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers Rights lays out the 10 rights we all have as users of  a Health or Disability service. This is sometimes referred to as “the Code”. These rights can also be seen as duties of the providers.

Providers of services include doctors, nurses, psychiatrists, counselors, ambulance staff, physiotherapists, support workers, home support workers, carers (whether paid or unpaid), some volunteer roles, pharmacists, complementary health providers, prison health staff, rest home staff, and many more.

If you are being treated under the Mental Health Act you still have all of the rights in the Code except right 7, the right to consent to, withdraw from or refuse treatment.

The 10 rights in the Code

  • Right 1: the right to be treated with respect
  • Right 2: the right to freedom from discrimination, coercion, harassment, and exploitation
  • Right 3: the right to dignity and independence
  • Right 4: the right to services of an appropriate standard
  • Right 5: the right to effective communication
  • Right 6: the right to be fully informed
  • Right 7: the right to make an informed choice and give informed consent
  • Right 8: the right to support
  • Right 9: rights in respect of teaching or research
  • Right 10: the right to complain

To find out more or for support call us on 0800 364 462 or find other ways to get in touch.